books and stuff

bibliophile

Think your job is bad? Think again…

Reading Challenge 2016

Waiter Rant (2008) – A. Waiter (Steve Dublanica)

  • No.5 ‘A book by an author who uses a pseudonym’

Hate your job? Write about it! That’s what particularly pissed off waiter, Steve Dublanica did.

Originally starting out as a weblog, Steve regularly wrote posts about certain difficult customers, staff and situations on his blog, Waiter Rant. At the time he remained anonymous.

However, due to it’s huge success, it was made into a book, and spent five weeks on the New York Times non-fiction best seller list, which meant A. Waiter had to own up, and reveal his true identity.

The beauty of this book is that everyone can relate. We’ve all, at some point experienced rude, obnoxious people in our lives – some of us have to serve them food, help them buy insurance, or even do their shopping for them. Or, you may be extremely embarrassed to find out that you’re one of the ‘asshole’ customers Steve served, or that you have acted in a similar way. If you are one of these people, Steve kindly leaves a ’40 Tips on how to be a good customer’ section at the back of the book – take note.

As I’m in my sixth year of working in retail I feel like I could (and probably will) write a book like this. As I was reading I found myself laughing and recalling myself in similar situations.

Although generally light hearted and amusing throughout, this book moved me too. Every so often Steve discloses his grim outlook on his situation: he’s 32, single, and still serving food to ass holes. One of my favourite lines is: “The Bistro is rapidly eroding what little armour I have left.” I often feel like my armour eroded away months ago.

Yet, every so often, he discloses an honest, somber and usually inspiring thought: “You can find the world in your own story, too – you just have to keep your eyes open.”

Interestingly, before I read this book I had submitted a piece of work to be assessed regarding my part time job in retail. Surprisingly it did well, it was interesting and even emotional too. I figured this would be a one-off, but after reading Waiter Rant I realised, similarly to Steve, that I have to keep my eyes open. There are so many people, with so many different stories, I can’t ignore them – they have to be written.

Steve made the best out of his bad situation, and came out on top. I aim to do the same.

Follow Steve on twitter.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

